Doing Some ‘Beefin Up’ on Production Best Practices (Loudness)

It’s interesting for me to learn that whilst I hadn’t even been aware of loudness standards at the time, I’m at least not too far off the mark where it pertains to delivery specifications for streaming at a time, when streaming like today had just more or less started. I guess, you could take this as “humble bragging” and I couldn’t argue. For me, it’s more of an explanation as to why I’d get airplay with my EP ‘Tales from the Homeshack‘ back in the days at all and suddenly saw my tracks appearing on playlists, which had all my music idols whose music and standards I’d had always been aspiring to. A similar thing happened when I sent one of my tracks through ‘audiolens’ and compared it with another tune of the same genre. Turns out, the frequency distribution was almost exactly where it was supposed to be for that particular genre, i.e. ‘Smooth Jazz’ or ‘Contemporary Jazz’, which really is ‘instrumental RnB’ as late radio host, producer, all around technology polymath and later post-production expert and Apple Distinguished Educator Bruce Nazarian once said in one of his ‘The Digital Guy Radio Show’ episodes).

These were the results that came back when having lufs.org analyze the WAV files I uploaded. Well, strictly speaking, I might fail today. But in my defense, given that the standards in place are now embraced across the industry which wasn’t the case at the time, I’d be mindful of that when mixing down and mastering today, of course.

Feel free to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.