How One Generation Was Single-Handedly Able To Kill The Music Industry


This …

“Most of the equipment required to create music has been absorbed into the DAW, while the software continues to get easier and easier to use. The end result is that artists can create music more quickly, more efficiently and less expensively than at any other time in history.”

and this…

“You have the power now. What are you going to do with it? For the first time in its long history, the American music business is firmly in the hands of the artists and the consumers. You have the ability to lead the industry wherever you want it to go.”

gave me an enormous natural high of enthusiasm and energy back in 2009, when I recorded “I Count on U“, which was quickly picked up by independent promoters, web radio stations and social media friends and fans. Now, if only I managed to lose this deeply ingrained concept of inadequacy I might get to dust off that excitement I then felt and along the lines of what the article says and maybe take another stab at it (I felt exactly the way the article proposes when realizing for myself for the first time in 2009 that I had my fingertips on most of the recording tools I had been dreaming of since age 16 or so).

Apart from just me and my gazing at my belly-button, all of this actually sounds like great news for any aspiring artist/composer/music producer. In a nutshell: Write that attention-capturing hit song, pitch it to a major corporation and start counting the money… or something like that😉

Thanks to Paris Cesvette for bringing this article to my attention!

via How One Generation Was Single-Handedly Able To Kill The Music Industry.

Leave a Reply

