Pink Floyd Just Made History One Last Time – Mic


Everything comes to an end – sooner or later. I remember one evening at a winter ski camp in the late 70ies, when a few schoolmates gathered in the room I was accommodated in, made themselves comfortable, cut the lights and someone played a tape of Pink Floyd’s “Wish You Were Here” and “Dark Side of the Moon” in otherwise complete silence. Felt almost mystical. And it implanted the music bug in general and the Pink Floyd bug in particular in me for many years to come.

Hurts a little to see everything that once meant the world to me inevitably diminish in significance or effect. On the other hand: Funny to notice how I instantly remember every single note and chord in this tune when rolling it, the bluesy guitar licks, the somber organ sound, the soft synth lead sound and the sophisticated vocal harmonies along with nifty ad libs everywhere in between – they all seem etched into my music synapses for good! Oh, how I yearned to play that music and how I sat my behind down for days on end and learnt it all until I thought I sounded just like Gilmore on the record!🙂

But everything must go, sooner or later… those days are definitely gone. Congrats to Pink Floyd for having broken yet another sales record with their presumably last album and a huge thanks to them for enriching my life and that of many others’ in many ways. “Shine on you crazy diamond”, indeed (quote borrowed from below linked article)!

Pink Floyd Just Made History One Last Time – Mic.

Leave a Reply

