Gene Simmons: Rock Is Finally Dead – Esquire


Gene Simmons: ‘Rock Is Finally Dead’ – Esquire. (found on Katherine Gilraine’s Facebook wall)

Hm. Some far stretches there. Patriotism fuelled the music industry then? Huh?! And technology killed ambition? I tend to be all doom-and-gloom myself. But on the other hand: There is bands – or rather: projects – like Snarky Puppy, there is Dirty Loops, there is this young kid from Britain – what’s his face… Jacob Callier or something like that? – and the list goes on. Are they iconic stars filling stadiums and festival areas? You tell me, as I’ve been living under a rock for the past 8 years and can only say from what I see in my immediate vicinity and on the new media. But from those bands and talent that I’ve mentioned, I’d like to derive some optimism: As long as someone has the PASSION to express themselves like this and is willing to SACRIFICE the incredible amount of hours of – at first unrewarding – practice it takes to get there, as long as young artists like that follow their heart and joy – someone some day will be able to make them some money from it. Or so I’m forcing MYSELF to believe.

Leave a Reply

