Collaboration with Brian O’Neal

For the past months, I must admit to have become like an online-addict – on any regular day I spend hours on MySpace and Facebook. On one of those days, I came across a profile reading ‘Brian O’Neal’ – changing the world one ear at a time. This claim immediately caught my attention and I took the tour around his virtual home(s) – and LOVED what I saw, read, listened to. So I left a comment on his wall status and continued my daily online trip. I later found, he had commented back and noticed that I was a musician myself. This is how a more frequent communication started.

Let’s fast forward: As of this morning, I find a new message in my inbox with a download link to an updated version of one of Brian’s songs named ‘Dreams in Color’ and him asking to check it out and come back with feedback. While I had LOVED this song before, he had asked me a few weeks ago, whether I’d add an acoustic guitar track to it. At first, I wasn’t all sure what to make of it, since I thought the song was perfect then with his virtuoso piano performance and more so, as I hadn’t even TOUCHED an acoustic in years, if not decades, let alone really played it. However and so far, I think I can say I haven’t backed out of a challenge and so I started practicing and recording – it was TOUGH, but rewarding, as I noticed some progress from day to day (most aspiring musicians, whether for fun or for making a living, will remember this sometimes painstaking process of learning the building blocks of your instrumental chops).

Eventually and weeks later, I sent Brian some files, which I hoped I wouldn’t get shattered over… (which, b.t.w., is Brian would most certainly never do :-)). You can’t imagine my joy and fulfilment, when he replied in a most positive and appreciative way – I think, I might have even gotten a little ‘misty-eyed’… :-). He told me, he’d do a little bit of editing and adding one or two tracks of his own and send me a made-over version – which is the one I’m talking about.

I’d like to say that I feel honored to have crossed paths with Brian, whom I believe to be the archetype of the “New Millenium Artist”. I am grateful he has made me a part of the song. I am hoping for this collaboration to grow and continue and appreciate everything coming from it. To those of you, who are here for the first time: Thank you for visiting my page (minimal material, yet – I’ll be working on that, too… :-)).

Here’s to eventually meeting the real people behind the (online) names, faces, pictures and blog entries. Have a blessed day, may music spread and flourish in every way it is supposed to!


DiC Recording Session
Recording session at Justmusic, Munich for Brian’s song ‘Dreams in Color’.

P.S.: I would like to thank Roland Köhler at Justmusic Munich for supporting the recording session at the guitar booth – awesome, many, many thanks!
Please check out the store:
P.P.S:: I would also like to thank Wolfram, my high school buddy and friend since then, for letting me borrow his acoustic guitar – thanks, man!

Leave a Reply

